RSS Feed

Atheism in Song

Music is a wonderful way of communicating. The above has pretty much been my theme song for the last 6 months. It totally reflects how I feel about God and about life in general. Not only does this guy sing about questioning God, but he also has a wicked-awesome-cool song about gay rights, and has made a music video about the Catholic Priests who rape children. The title of his most recent album says it all…..Think Bigger. If ever there was a message Christians need to hear, those two words would be it. Furthermore, after seeing him live at a music festival, I have fallen totally madly in love with him. (I’m a teenage girl, I’m allowed to have crushes like this)

Another band there that inspired me was First Aid Kit. It is comprised of two gorgeous Swedish girls. I love their lyrics:

Well, I see you’ve got your bible, your delusion imagery.
I don’t need your eternity or your meaning to feel free.
I just live because I love to and that’s enough, you see.
So don’t come preach about morality, that’s just human sense to me

It’s one life, and it’s this life, and it’s beautiful.

They dedicated this song to Richard Dawkins. I cheered really loudly when they did this and subsequently got some weird looks. I’m the only ex-Christian that I know, (outside of the internet) so I do get extremely excited over atheism at such a mainstream event. It was incredible.

About Ellen Rose

Blogger curious about how travel helps us to lead more meaningful lives.

2 responses »

  1. Ah, I love both of these songs! As a fellow ex-christian and atheists, I know what you mean by getting excited over things like that. So glad I saw these! Thanks 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

